Belfast Royal Academy’s preparatory department, Ben Madigan, is located on the Antrim Road on a beautiful private site in the shadow of Cave Hill and overlooking Belfast Lough. Originally opened in 1829, the school has changed site several times but moved to its current location in 1965. The new main school building was opened by the Governor of Northern Ireland, the Lord Erskine of Rerrick. A new Kindergarten building for the younger year groups was opened in May 1985 by Her Royal Highness the Princess Anne. Over the years the school has enjoyed various renovations and developments to create the unique educational environment that it is today.